For Sinners Only — February 17

Image

Sin is poison to the spirit. Poison is not too strong a word because unrepentant sinning eventually leads to the death of the spirit. It may be a quick death, or it may be a slow death. The moment of temptation may cause any sin to look attractive, but in that moment of temptation, no matter how attractive the sin may appear to be, we should always make it a point to say to ourselves so we’ll never forget it: “That is poison to me! It will destroy who I am and what I want for my life!”

My spirit is the well that waters my whole life – if an enemy wishes to destroy me, all he has to do is to poison the well. When I sin, I become my own enemy and poison every part of my life. It is time to dig a new well and let the clean water that is not poisoned by sin to flow into my whole life. Jesus provides the living water that can clean the well of my spirit. Anyone who drinks from the living water that Christ provides will never be thirsty again and that water will flow up inside him like a fountain that will spill out into eternal life (Jn. 4:14).

QUESTION FOR THE DAY:
Do I accept that sin is poison to me and that Jesus Christ is the antidote?

PRAYER:
Lord, let me taste of your living water today, not just so that I can live forever with you in the Kingdom of God, but so that I can be purified from the poison that has spilled into my life through sin and become the person I was created to be, living in your Kingdom from this moment on – in this world and in the world to come. Amen.

Leave a Reply

