For Sinners Only: Changing Your Life One Day At A Time — March 2

Image

Over the period of years that I actively engaged in sin, even as a follower of Christ and a believer in His Church, I have proven to myself that I cannot stop sinning by willpower. There were some sins that were the product of habit that could be amended by altering the behavior, but the sins that plagued me, and the sins that bothered me, were more than mere habit. They were like rust on my very soul. They became a part of who I was and I could not remove them without doing damage to myself, or leaving behind gaping holes in the core of my self.

The only way I could address these sins was by turning them over to a Power greater than myself, which I call God. I began to move from sickness into health the moment I got down on my knees and Surrendered myself to God, as I understand God. I have put my life, including my sins, into God’s hands. The result is that in spite of myself, my sins are vanishing. God is doing for me what I could not do for myself.

The power I have in my life comes from communication with God in prayer and meditation. When I pray, I am being intentionally present with God. When I meditate, I am listening for God’s direction. It is not enough for me to simply give God my will and my life – to Surrender what I want in favor of what God wants for me – if I do not then seek out what God’s will for me is. I must find quiet time alone with God, when I am intentionally present with God, sometimes talking, sometimes listening, sometime just being . My relationship with God is the same as my relationship with any other person – I have to spend time with God to get to know God. The more I know God, the more I know God’s will, and the more I trust that God is giving me the power to do His will.

QUESTION FOR THE DAY:
Have I surrendered all of myself to God, even my sins?

PRAYER:
Lord, let me feel your power. Give me the assurance that I will be able to face anything through that power. Let me know your will for me today and give me the power to carry it out. Amen.

Leave a Reply

