For Sinners Only: Changing Your Life One Day At A Time — March 3

Image

After I have made a Surrender, the sin problem is out of my hands and in the hands of God. The only thing I have to do is to make certain that I never again reach out and take the problem back. I will leave it in God’s hands where it belongs. Whenever I am tempted to take back the sin problem, or to take back my self-will and run my own life, I have to remember that I did not choose to Surrender my will and life to God because I wanted to, but because I had, through the working of my own self-will, brought myself to a place where there was no other option. God’s will was my last resort and I took it. Just because my life is better now, it does not mean that I am any more qualified to run my own life than I was when I ruined my own life. I made a bargain with God and God has kept His side of it, so I must keep mine.

The Bible tells me that flesh and the spirit are at war and the mind is the battleground on which they fight. I know that if I sow in the flesh I will receive a harvest in the flesh, and if I sow in the spirit I will receive a harvest of spirit. “Those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. To set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God” (Rom. 8:5-7). Therefore, by choosing to Surrender to God’s will, I am choosing to live according to the Spirit and I am setting my mind on life and peace.

Whatever choice I make will become evident in my life. if I choose to live in the flesh – live according to my own will which has been twisted by sin in order to sin – then my life will be filled with “sexual immorality, impurity, eroticism, debauchery, idolatry, drug use, hostility, selfish-rivalry, jealousy, rage, selfish-ambition, dissensions and heresies, envy, drunkenness, wild partying, and things such as these” (Gal. 5:19-21) But if I choose to live according to the Spirit – turn all that I am and all that I have over to God’s will – then my life will manifest unconditional love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faith, humility, self-control” (Gal. 5:22-23).

If sin can twist my will to serve sin, then surely God’s will can, over time, reshape my will so that it once more serves God. In the meantime, I have to choose each day which I will Surrender to: Self-will and sin, or God’s will and peace. Only I get to choose which of the two lists above I bring into my life. No one can choose for me. And the choice is made each day by either Surrendering to God’s will or not.

QUESTION FOR THE DAY:
What am I going to Surrender to today – God’s will and peace, or my will and sin?

PRAYER:
Lord, I ask you to show me signs of my growth in this new way of living. I ask that as I choose to live according to the Spirit, you allow me to see clear evidence of love, joy, peace, patience, self-control and all that comes with Surrendering to your will. Give me the courage and conviction to keep growing in spiritual things so that I will not be overcome by material concerns. Amen.

Leave a Reply

