What People Seem To Think Jesus Said

“Then he’ll turn to those on his left and say, ‘Get away from me you who are cursed! Your place is the everlasting fire that has been prepared for the devil and his angels because I was hungry and none of you ever gave me anything to eat; I was thirsty and none of you ever gave me something to drink. I was a stranger and none of you ever welcomed me. I was naked and none of you ever gave me anything to wear. I was sick and in jail and none of you ever bothered to visit me.
“Then they will answer him just as the first group did, and say, ‘Lord, when did we ever see you hungry, or thirsty, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in jail. And when did we ever refuse to serve you?’
“Then he will answer them saying, ‘Amen! I’m telling all of you that whenever you refrained from doing these things for someone, regardless of how unimportant they were, you were also refraining from doing it for me!’
“These people will leave and go into eternal punishment…”
(Matthew 25:41-46)

One comment

  1. I feel like I have been exposed a lot lately to the sad fact that we limit the scope of our relationship with a “higher power” by basing it on man (and/or woman). I heard a sermon not too long ago about the story of the golden calf. For those who haven’t heard of it, it can be found in Exodus 32. As a synopsis, the story tells of Moses ascending a mountain to receive the infamous Ten Commandments from God and in the meantime, the Israelites lost hope and therefore forced the next in command to construct an idol or another god for them to worship. The lesson taught in the sermon was about how we set ourselves up for failure because we base our faith on another man and when that man leaves, fails, or otherwise disappoints us, our hope and faith follows suit.

Leave a Reply

